Stevie Turner, Author.

Stevie Turner,  Author

Reviews : AMOC

Darlene  Foster's review on Goodreads from 9/6/18:
4 stars 
Sometimes one hasty decision can affect your entire life. Sophie doesn't know what she is getting into when she agrees to marry wannabe rock star Gerrie Hermann so he can stay in the UK and pursue his music career. Can a marriage of convenience survive a botched up kidnapping, harboured secrets, lost dreams and undeniable heartache? An easy read with real-life characters set in the exciting London music scene and exotic Rio de Janeiro.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Reviewed 15/6/18  on Goodreads by D.G Kaye:

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2424834191?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1



5 out of 5 stars


Turner has a gift for creating engrossing family drama stories and fleshing out strong characters who draw us into their stories and emotions.

In this tale we are introduced to Sophie, a university student, who is offered an unusual opportunity to marry Gerrie, an aspiring musician who is a fellow student at her school,: he's looking for someone who will marry him to give him legal status to stay in the U.K. legally to pursue his musical career. A large sum of money comes with the offer which makes it quite a tempting one.

What transpires from their marriage of convenience turns out to be a lasting love, along with an emotional rollercoaster for both Sophie and Gerrie from the beginning when they both, first have to inform their parents about the sudden marriage, and continues with the drama that ensues throughout their marriage (no spoilers). Suffice it to say, that the plot thickens when Gerrie hatches a plot to extract money from his wealthy parents to start up a band and take it on the road, which backfires because Gerrie's parents had bigger dreams of him taking over the family business, so there was no other way his parents would freely hand him over the money for a pipedream. This leaves Gerrie with no option but to go through with his alternate plan which ultimately winds up jeopardizing his family.

The story continues to build with many tribulations as the couple's plight to gain funds gets sticky, and Gerrie and Sophie are faced with dramatic family woes. As the years pass and their family grows, grief that is hidden but never forgotten plays a big part in their quest to regain their family unit and in doing so, find forgiveness for the baddies who had turned their lives upside down.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ByAnita Daweson 13 September 2018


Would you marry someone simply to help them out of a dilemma?
This is what Sophie Woods, a university student, is about to do, a business arrangement, nothing more. But what happens afterwards is the stuff that dreams, and Hollywood movies are made of. Sophie, young and naïve, has never done anything risky before and has no idea of what fate awaits her.
Gerrie, a South African student, is an aspiring rock star with wealthy parents, who unfortunately don’t approve of his career choice. Gerrie wants to stay in England and the only way he can do that, is to get married.
Sophie falls in love with her new husband, but circumstances conspire to ruin their unexpected happiness and break both their hearts as well. The tension builds unbearably for them and their future outcome looks decidedly bleak.

There doesn’t seem to be an easy solution to their problems and after so long, can there really be a happy ever after?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

17 October 2018 by J Gogerty
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase


This could be described as a fairy tale for our age; a story that crosses from last century into the present. There is a love story, but there is also the bad fairy. Here is a tale of young people making rash decisions and bizarre plans which the reader knows can't go well, which we hope they won't go through with... There are dreams that come true and dreams that fade. The final part of the tale keeps us in suspense; can the dark spell be lifted from our heroine, can she ever forgive?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5 stars from 'Shhhh' on Amazon.co.uk on 27/2/21

https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R37SKIRDARJMTK


Where do I start? This is a fast-paced short-ish (150 pages) read from Stevie Turner.
This story starts over twenty years ago when Sophie is at university worrying about how she will pay her parents back for her tuition fees. Then she meets Gerrie, he's gorgeous, South African... and offers Sophie £30,000 to marry him.
Sophie agrees and things move very quickly in the right direction. Not expecting to fall in love, they do and soon Sophie is pregnant. This impulsive, life-changing behaviour turns out to be just right for the plot because Gerrie and Sophie make a decision that will change their lives forever.
Blackmail and deception return twenty years later, when Gerrie and Sophie's younger children secure a gig at a heavy metal festival (great setting). What would you do if you bumped into someone who betrayed you twenty years previously? I can't say what this is about because it would spoil the twist, but I can say that Sophie's middle-aged years have not calmed her impulsive behaviour.
After thinking, debating and wondering what ALL the family will do - readers are rewarded with a 'moving on' type resolution.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 stars from 'Kazz' on  11/3/21


Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 March 2021
Right away I liked the writing style and the characters. I've always had a penchant for stories with rock stars in them, so I liked the idea immediately, and it didn't fail. I thought I knew where the story would go. Girl meets guy, falls in love, he is a struggling singer and eventually makes it big. I was wrong, which is a nice surprise. He isn't the rock star of the book, and there is a twist right at the beginning, a mystery, that moves the story forward in a way I hadn't imagined.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was very satisfied with the happy ending I was unsure we would get. I felt the tension of Sophie and could understand the hurt she felt as we reach the climax of the book. It almost brought a tear to my eyes. Let's just say that forgiveness is a powerful thing.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Review from Karen Mossman on 16/3/21

I have been struggling of late and have been incredibly picky at what I want to read. I want shorter books and a cover and description that grabs me. It sounds easy, but it really isn’t. However, it got to the point I had nothing to read that I turned to the WordPress Reader section and to the sites I follow.

One of those is a blog called Stevie Turner, realist, writer, reader and reviewer, and rocker. I like her blog as it is always one that stops me scrolling the feed. This time I came across a book review for one of her own stories that she had re-blogged. I read the description for A Marriage of Convenience and really liked it, and of course the fact it was in Kindle Unlimited, swung it for me. I could cope with 151 words, that’s a good length.

Right away I liked the writing style and the characters. I’ve always had a penchant for stories with rock stars in them, so I liked the idea immediately, and it didn’t fail. I thought I had an idea of where the story would go. Girl meets guy, falls in love, he is a struggling singer and eventually makes it big. I was wrong, which is a nice surprise. He isn’t the rock star of the book, and there is a twist right at the beginning, a mystery, that moves the story forward in a way I hadn’t imagined.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was very satisfied with the happy ending I was unsure we would get. I felt the tension of Sophie and could understand the hurt she felt. It almost brought a tear to my eyes. Let’s just say that forgiveness is a powerful thing.

The only thing that distracted me from the story slightly was the formatting. There were gaps between words and double spacing at the beginning of a chapter. But it wasn’t enough to put me off especially when a story is this good.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------